This week we had a great presentation regarding assessment and assessment tools. I think that assessment is an area that a lot of teachers are always looking for new ways of doing things. We all know the importance of assessment, and we want to do it as often as possible, but we need to make sure our assessment strategies and techniques are seamless and don’t take away from learning time. Before technology, assessment would mostly have to be achieved through oral conversations with students or by having students write down answers and then the teacher has to read through student work. Reading and providing written feedback takes time, and it’s important to give prompt feedback to students. Oral is great, but also takes time to talk to individual students, and when done as a whole class, certain students dominate the discussion which can give a false sense of understanding on behalf of the entire class and can let individuals fall through the cracks.

 

In our presentation this week, we were provided with a laundry list of assessment tools, many of which I personally was not familiar with, and as a teacher, that is exciting!! I’m always wanting to innovate and become a better teacher, but it can be difficult to find other alternatives, so when someone does the work of finding tools for you, it is wonderful! Some I currently use, some I was familiar with but have not explored, and some are entirely new. From a previous @courosa course, I was familiar with Google Forms and Flubaroo, but Alec reminded me of this and that’s something that I want to explore. However, the one tool that I’m going to try and implement first is going to be Plickers!

One of the reasons I want to use Plickers is simply for diversity, and on that note, it has been a while since I have done any vlogging so I would like to mix things up and vlog!

I found this great tutorial video on Nicole’s blog this week that was very helpful to someone who has not yet used Plickers! It seems like there’s a little bit of work involved in getting it set up, but nothing too onerous and then once you’re up and going it seems really quite simple! Ashley’s comment on Nicole’s blog though did bring up a good point that I am a little concerned about, and that is how difficult it might be for a device to scan and pick up all the cards. I can see it being frustrating if you have difficulty scanning the classroom to pick up the cards, but as long as it’s not too difficult, having to scan the room a few times doesn’t seem like too big of a drawback.

Commonsense has a review of Plickers and provides some information for teachers who may be interested in using it, including how you can use it in your classroom. I am always interested in hearing about different ways that teachers utilize it in their classroom, so if you have used it, please let us know in the comments what your experiences have been like. I mentioned in my video that I really want to try and use it in small bursts to break up a class lesson and to do quick check-ins, as opposed to lengthy Q & A sessions.

 

Live long and prosper

