I’ve got a confession to make. I’m not really sure I understand web 3.0 all that well. Even when I looked it up on Wikipedia, it told me, “the actual content is not defined by consensus”. I LIKE DEFINITIONS!! Just tell me what exactly it is!!

I came across this video on Nicole’s blog that provides a quick overview of web 3.0, but I still struggle with understanding. I get that it’s a more advanced AI that can basically tell you the information you need to know without even asking, but if somebody asked me to explain it I would probably just say, “It’s the internet…but it’s really, really smart!”

Jackie Gerstein’s article ‘Moving from Education 1.0 Through Education 2.0 Towards Education 3.0’, “compares the developments of the Internet and the Web with those of education” (p.83). Much like how the Web 1.0 version is identified with items such as search engines where there are clear producers and consumers (few producers, many consumers), Education 1.0 is the traditional teaching model of teacher as producer of information and students as consumers. This is an effective learning strategy. Most of what I have learned in my life has come from this method, but it isn’t always the most engaging.

Web 2.0 was a transition from consuming to creating. This allowed everyone to be a creator, and really began to take off with the creation of such tools as Wikipedia, blogging, and social media programs such as Facebook and Twitter. Education 2.0 would see the role of the teacher switch to less direct instruction to more of a facilitator role in which students would be tapping into constructivist and connectivist learning models. Students would broaden their learning network to include many others besides their teacher as the sources of knowledge.

29199952180_b5a805fbbe_d
Photo Credit: Vintuitive Flickr via Compfight cc

Gerstein points out that, “With Education 3.0, the educator’s role truly becomes that of guide-as-the-side, coach, resource-suggester, and cheerleader as learners create their own learning journey” (p.92). From my understanding, Education 2.0 and 3.0 both are much more student centered learning models, but what seems to be the transition here is a greater emphasis on the students selecting their journey. Education 2.0, which sees the teacher relinquishing sole duties of knowledge transfer, still creates a somewhat guided path for all of the students whereas with the 3.0 version, students have more freedom in choosing their pathway.

I could be really wrong about this, but that’s where my thinking is at this moment.

Benita talks about her personal teaching practice ‘progressing’ in regards to Web 2.0. I commented that I think most teachers fall into that boat, or further behind. There are many reasons for this, some due to personal choice, but for many teachers, it’s not choice, but rather restrictions that may be simply due to inadequate technology and internet. I also commented that there will become a greater divide between the have’s and the have not’s as those with technology will be able to continue pushing the frontier whereas those without will be stuck in Education 1.0, and not necessarily by choice. Technology can create many opportunities, but it can also widen the gap if we cannot provide these opportunities to all.

I mentioned earlier that Web 1.0 and Education 1.0 are effective in learning. I stand by this. We’ve put man on the moon, given people new organs, and even the internet was created all by people educated with version 1.0. That’s a pretty good success rate. That doesn’t mean there aren’t better alternatives. If we believe the current system is the best and don’t ever try to innovate, our world can never improve. The ability for students to take ownership of their learning is powerful. There are so many positives that the newer versions of Education provide, but one concern I have is that we don’t always, especially when we’re young, make the best choices for ourselves in the long run. I believe that there is some foundational knowledge that all people should have and that direct instruction is still very valuable in providing all students with those key pieces that everyone should know. Thus, a balanced classroom with some direct instruction, some connected learning, some constructivist learning, some problem based learning, is an effective and engaging classroom in my mind that provides a wide variety of skills.

I have tried to do this year what Gerstein identifies teachers should do in Education 3.0 in which the teacher, “models the process of self-determined learning” (p.92). I wasn’t really sure how to do this, but mostly through personal stories, I feel like the class has been moving towards this goal and this transformation has been a thing of beauty.

I would really love to hear your stories of how you have created that passion for self-determined learning in your classes!

Live long and prosper

