Well, here we are nearing the end of another semester. The spring semesters always go by so fast, but it has been a month and a half full of learning. I really enjoyed the debate style classes throughout the semester as it took important topics that many teachers struggle with, and really provided good arguments for both sides. Many of the arguments are things that I have thought about, but there were many new things I had never thought of before and so they gave me a little more to think about while I wrestle with my own thoughts on these issues.

I found myself leaning more towards the pro technology side of the arguments…a stance that has changed over the past couple of years. Many of the debates highlighted that there are some dangers associated with technology and technology has the potential to impact our lives negatively, but isn’t that the case for almost everything? I teach my students in science that they shouldn’t fear ‘chemicals’, we are, in fact, nothing but a big sack of chemicals ourselves. With the right dosage, everything can harm us, even water! And so I think this can go along with technology use as well…with the right dosage and application, technology has the ability to enrich our lives, not harm them, but it must be used appropriately, responsibly, and we must be explicitly taught directions for use.

I have learned a lot from all of you this semester and I am grateful for that. Technology has allowed the teaching profession to become a large global community of collaborators who share ideas for effective teaching. This is awesome. And a special thank you to Alec and Katia for putting together a great course yet again!

For my summary of learning, I put together a video that highlights the debate topics and some of the main points regarding each issue, along with my personal thoughts on the issues. I had lots more that I wanted to say, but since I was at 9 minutes already, certain segments had to be axed. Stay tuned for the extended cut!

 

Live long and prosper

